EPC Council

The executive council of the EPC will consist of the President, the President elect, the past President, the Secretary, the Treasurer and eight general councillors. The President will preside over the EPC for one year. The Secretary of the EPC or a Council member designated by the Secretary shall chair all meetings of the Council.


Responsibilities of the Council

The EPC is managed by the Council. The Council decides on all matters not specifically assigned to the General Assembly. The Council notably has the following responsibilities:
(A) Administration of the EPC business.
(B) Organisation of the annual EPC-meeting as detailed in Statutes of the EPC Article X.
(C) Delegation of responsibilities to sub-committees or working parties as appropriate.
(D) Approval of the accounts.
(E) Preparation and executing of rules and regulations for the management of the EPC.
For more information please see the Statutes of the EPC.





Matthias Löhr

Elected: 2016 (Oct 2017-Oct 2022)

Karolinska Institutet
SE-141 86 Stockholm

Phone: +46 8 5858-2431

Fax: +46 8 5858-2340


President For 2018


Markus Lerch         


Department of Medicine A
University Medicine Greifswald
Friedrich-Loeffler-Straße 23A
17489 Greifswald
Phone: +49-3834-867230
Fax: +49-3834-867234


Past President



Gábor Varga               


Department of Oral Biology
Semmelweis University
Nagyvárad sqr. 4.
Budapest H-1089
Phone: +36 1 2104415

email: varga.gabor@dent.semmelweis-univ.hu




President Elect


Anders Molven


Gade Laboratory for Pathology
Department of Clinical Medicine
Haukeland University Hospital
University of Bergen
N-5021 Bergen


Phone: +47-55973169
E-mail: anders.molven@uib.no



Rolf Graf

Elected: 2012 (Oct 2012-Oct 2017)

Department of Surgery
University Hospital Zurich
Rämistrasse 100
8091 Zürich
Phone: +41 44 255 2071
Fax: +41 44 255 4449


Council Members - Basic Science



David Criddle

Elected: 2016 (Oct 2016-Oct 2019)

Institute of Translational Medicine
Dept of Cellular & Molecular Physiology,
Crown Street,
University of Liverpool,
L69 3BX
United Kingdom
Phone: +441517945351



Albrecht Neeße

Elected: 2017 (Oct 2017-Oct 2020)
Universitätsmedizin Göttingen
Robert-Koch-Str. 40
37075 Göttingen
Telefon +49 551 39 66326
Fax +49 551 39 19125




Viktória Venglovecz 

Elected: 2015 (Oct 2015-Oct 2018)


First Department of Medicine
University of Szeged
Koranyi alley 8-10
6720 Szeged
Phone:  +3662545200


Council Members - Clinical Science



Thilo Hackert

Elected: 2017 (Oct 2017-Oct 2020)


Klinik für Allgemein-, Viszeral- und Transplantationschirurgie

Im Neuenheimer Feld 110

D-69120 Heidelberg


email: Thilo.Hackert@med.uni-heidelberg.de




Gabriele Capurso

Elected: 2015 (Oct 2015-Oct 2018)


Digestive and Liver Disease Unit
Pancreatic Disorders Clinic
S. Andrea Hospital, University Sapienza
Via Salaria 408
00199 Rome
Phone: +39 06 33775691
Fax: +39 0633775526






Natalya B. Gubergrits

Elected: 2015 (Oct 2015-Oct 2018)


Department of Internal Medicine
Donetsk  National  Medical University
Pr. Grinkevicha, 8 - 3
83001 Donetsk
Phone: +380 62 3127971
Fax: +380 62 3127971




Marco Del ChiaroMarco Del Chiaro.jpg     
Elected: 2013 

Division of Surgery,
Department of Clinical Science, Intervention and Technology
Karolinska Institutet
Phone: +46858580000
Fax: +46858586366




Former EPC Council Memers:


William Greenhalf          (General Councilor; Basic Science);          elected: 2011 (Oct 2011-Oct 2014)  


Heiko Witt                      (General Councilor; Clinical Science);        elected: 2011 (Oct 2011-Oct 2014)


Daniela Basso               (General Councilor; Basic Science);           elected: 2012 (Oct 2012-Oct 2015)


Ralf Segersvärd               (General Councilor; Basic Science);         elected: 2012 (Oct 2012-Oct 2015)


Julia V. Mayerle               (General Councilor; Basic Science);         elected: 2012 (Oct 2012-Oct 2015)


Alexei Tepikin                    (General Councilor; Basic Science);         elected: 2013 (Oct 2013-Oct 2016)